The Part I’m Not Good At…

I’m a pretty good homemaker, I think, especially when you consider my full-time job and 45-minute commute. My husband and I eat delicious meals, I grow vegetables on my tiny balcony, and I’m capable of making a pretty good homemade gift.

What am I not good at?

CLEANING.

Seriously. My house is always a mess. No matter what I do. If I clean it in the morning, it’s dirty by the afternoon.

You see, most of my hobbies involve stuff. They involve doing things with said stuff. And by the time I’m done doing these things, I’m ready to move on to the next activity. Unfortunately for my home, the next activity is almost never cleaning.

There’s a quote I like to remember. I’ve heard it two ways.

1. A clean house is a sign of a boring person.
2. A clean house is a sign of a life misspent.

When a house is dirty, it’s because it’s lived in. A home is not a magazine. It is a place to live a life.

Leave a Reply

