A little job update

It’s official. I’m someone who NEEDS to work.

After a week and a half of unemployment, I’m itching to have a reason to leave the house. And Monday, it looks like I’ll get it. I’m starting a part-time job as a photographer at a major tourist attraction.

To be perfectly honest, I’m not that excited about it. It’s a lower hourly wage than I made at my previous job, and it’s only part-time. Plus, there’s the nagging feeling that I really could do better.

But I’ll try to make the best of it. I’m hoping that working only part-time will give me more time to blog, sew, cook, volunteer, work on side gigs and do other things.

I thought I would enjoy my short-lived unemployment more than I did. I discovered something about myself these past two weeks (something quite obvious, actually): I get more done when I have more on my plate.

If I go to work and then have two free hours, I can usually get some sewing done, do a little cleaning and cook dinner. If I have eight free hours, I get about the same amount of work done, and I spend the rest of my time laying around. It’s not intentional; it just happens.

So, I’m headed back into the working world on Monday. I won’t be going to my dream job, but I’ll be working, and that’s important in itself.

 

One thought on “A little job update

  1. Erin, I hear you!

    I, too, accomplish more when I have more on my plate. If I work, I work, but if I rest, I rest. Last month I had ten vacation days and I thought – wow, I’ll get so much done! Then I thought – nah :)) I know I won’t. I’m just not wired that way – I’m a sprinter and I definitely suck and marathons.

Leave a Reply

